Free Download - Michi Wiancko and Judd Greenstein's score to "The Mend"

Free download:

Michi Wiancko & Judd Greenstein's

score to comic drama film:

The Mend


"The air is thick with unsettled grudges and impending confrontation, an edgy vibe enhanced by the string section performing Judd Greenstein and Michi Wiancko's modernist score." 
--John Defore, The Hollywood Reporter

"The erratic score by Judd Greenstein and Michi Wiancko should also please any classical scholar." --Michael Roffman, Time Magazine

"Judd Greenstein and Michi Wiancko's bracingly modernist score sets the tone for this Arnaud Desplechin-esque study of shared familial dysfunction..." --MoMA Catalogue Description


Download now via Bandcamp

The Mend, an acidic comic drama from writer/director John Magary, features a striking original score by violinist/composer Michi Wiancko and keyboardist/composer (and New Amsterdam co-Artistic Director) Judd Greenstein. The film opens this Friday at the IFC Center in Manhattan and will screen around the country in the coming months. To mark the occasion, New Amsterdam is pleased to offer a free download of Wiancko and Greenstein's "bracingly modernist" (MoMA) score, which has been among the most talked-about independent film music of the year.

The Mend stars Josh Lucas and Stephen Plunkett as a mismatched yin-yang pair of NYC brothers, following them as they stagger dimly towards some understanding of love, women, masculinity and brotherhood. Collaborating on their first feature-length film score, Wiancko and Greenstein built a trenchant, varied musical world around themes of family tension and existential dread. Playing often like a psychologically-rooted "counterpoint to the film's existential funk" (Wall Street Journal), the score, composed for strings, keyboard, and woodwinds (performed by yMusic's Hideaki Aomori), "suggests at all moments that any minor peace might unravel into violence" (The Village Voice). Meticulously produced and mixed by Wiancko, the score stands on its own as a lush, cohesive listening experience.

For tickets to the NYC screenings, click here. A complete schedule of the film's screenings and more information can by found at the film's website:

"The spare, wry string, keyboard and woodwind arrangements become a character in their own right." -- Steve Dollar, Wall Street Journal

"A busy, at time almost Baroque string score from Judd Greenstein and Michi Wiancko may seem counterintuitive at first, but it smartly complements the prevailing moods of anxiety and bubbling-over confusion." --Andrew Barker, Variety

"The film features a massive string quartet musical score by Judd Greenstein and Michi Wiancko, which creates just enough tension without forging any revelations to the story and plays a darker theme brewing further and further into the brothers' own personal inferno." --Jim Brunzell III, Twin Cities Daily Planet